3. "The influence of social media on individuals and society is growing." Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

Social media has evolved into a highly sophisticated factor that affects people and society with a surgical impact. Although this phenomenon can be advantageous as it helps to make a living, it can bring severe effects to individuals’ overall well-being.

As it is known today, a whole host of influencers and celebrities represent their idealized lifestyles and standards, ensuing people just compare themselves physically and in terms of appearance, which takes a toll on their overall well-being. Exposure to such content videos of influencers pushes people to foster unrealistic expectations, such as changing their appearance and outfits, even though most content on social media is often unrealistic or staged beforehand to engine emotional attachment. For instance, Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson, a globally famous actor and social media personality, frequently showcases his muscular body and glamorous lifestyle, which can set unrealistic standards and negatively affect his followers’ mental well-being. After a while, many individuals realize that they are not perfect and it is not plausible to be an ideal person, which results in low self-esteem, thus causing mental problems.

Moreover, social media has turbocharged individuals’ income rate. Since people have easy access to the internet, they can launch online stores with minimal investment, and they can popularize their brand with the aid of influencers and celebrities. For instance, the watch brand Daniel Wellington popularized its products with the aid of celebrities such as Kendall Jenner, who showcased the watches to millions of followers on social media. As a result, their product becomes well-known across the world, thereby increasing their sales rates, which brings vast profit.

In conclusion, social media can be beneficial in terms of making a living and earning profits; however, it has a detrimental impact on people’s overall well-being by creating false pictures of life.