Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

According to a certain view, clean water should be provided freely and accessible to every household, since it is a basic human right. While I agree that everyone must have access to clean water, I believe it should not be completely free for all people, to improve the economy and the enviroment.

First of all, water is essential for life, and everyone needs clean water to survive, so it should be free for all. Free water of charge can be helpful for some citizens and help protect public health. For instance, it can support people from low-income families who cannot afford water bills, so free water helps them live safely. Therefore, if poor people drank dirty water, it would lead to health problems. As a result, free access can reduce diseases caused by dirty water and be helpful for some individuals.

However, I firmly believe that it should not be free for everyone. Free of charge can harm the economy and lead to a lack of water. For instance, without investment, the quality of water can be exacerbated, since the governments need money to clean and deliver water to provide it for citizens. Moreover, it can lead lack of water; people might use too much when it’s free. Secondly, it damages infrastructure; without payment, there may be no funds to fix pipes or treatment plants. Moreover, instead of making water free for everyone, a discount can be given to people from low-income families.

In conclusion, while some individuals believe free water ought to be accessible for everyone, I firmly believe free water should not be provided for everyone to improve the economy and the environment.