Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a viewpoint among some individuals that clean water should be free of charge as it is the source which is essential for people to live. I however, do not agree with this stance, as there are many obstacles and disadvantages to fulfill free access which I will provide in this essay.

Without water, we humans would fail to maintain basic hiegine. In other words, having a shower, washing up dishes, clothes and dusting would be impossible. Undoubly, drinking water is one of the natural resources that the Mother Nature provides for all living creatures,therefore, all the inhabitants of the Planet have their right to have it. Never in the past did humans have to pay for the water when they lived primitively in the wild. However, we are now living in the comercialised world of mega cities, which means, implementing free water suply policy is impossible to implement.

The first factor that would impede fulfilling free water suply is the financial burden of maintaining the water system such as water pipes that constanly need mending. Without funding, it the plan will be doomed to failure. What is more, if people have free access to clean water, they will less likely to utilize it rationally, failing to reailise its true value. For instance, people will leave the water taps running in the bathrooms or neglect water leackages as a result a great amout of water will go to waste.

In conclusion, people must pay for clean water since without funding the water supply system can not be operated by itself. Paying for water will make people be more mindful before wasting it.