Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Water is one of the most vital resources for human life. Some people claim that every household should be supplied with free water. While I agree that everyone deserves access to clean water, I believe that making it completely free of charge for all homes is not a practical and sustainable decision.

In terms of humanitarian reasons, every person should have free water to maintain hygienic needs and restore the water balance. Otherwise, our world may face new deadly epidemics and frequent casualties. The water delivery could be made by installing a tap with clear water in every housing, contributing to the well-being of all individuals. As all homes should be supplied with water, it will probably lead to an increase in social equality. For instance, people from Africa might have the same amount of water supplied as citizens of Germany, which may lead to the less acute differences between people across the world.

In contrast, governments could face such drawbacks as economic problems. Delivering water to every home may become a burden, as expenditures will steeply increase, leaving less budget money for political or ecological needs. In a perspective, it may result in severe financial struggles for almost every country. Furthermore, if water becomes free, some individuals will probably waste and overuse it, because they do not spend their own earnings. In this case, the whole water resources can be depleted and there may be no water left for humans and animals.

While I agree with the statement that water should be supplied to every individual for free, I think that it can result in overuse of valuable resource and economic struggles for the government.