ADVERTISING DISCOURAGES PEOPLE FROM BEING DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS BY MAKING US WANT TO BE AND LOOK THE SAME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Opinions are divided on whether promoting discourages individuals from personal ones by making us want to be and to look the same. In my opinions, I strongly agree this notion because

One primary reason is that advertising creates unrealistic and uniform ideals. Most promotions usually use the same form like white models with beautiful shapes, creating a general beauty. Consumers, especially the younger generation, are under the impression that personal individuals also have to be like that. They follow exactly what the models wear or do their makeup routine. For instance, some high-end cosmetics brands like L’Oreal or Maybelline usually advertise their products with a model with soft skin. Therefore, customers immediately purchase this item with hopeness that after using it, they will get skin same like the models.

Another point to consider is suppression of unique expression. Advertisement allows people to follow the trend styles, which reduce uniqueness. Repeating a statement about a human being succeeding and rich creates more burden and stress.

In conclusion, I believe that advertising promotes uniformity by encouraging people to pursue standardized looks and lifestyle, which widespread influence can harm the diversity and creativity of society.