All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that everyone should use electric cars and cars that run on fossil fuels should be expelled. This essay disagrees with that suggestion because electric cars are very expensive and besides that the electric network would be overused if everyone needs to charge their car.

Electric cars are one of the newest developments, it’s an environmentally friendly car, but the big disadvantage is that they cost a lot of money. Most people in the country still have a car that runs on fossil fuels, buying a new electric car is very expensive and not affordable for everyone. If the government restricts cars that run on fossil fuels this will most of all hurt the poor people in our country. They won’t be able to buy a new car. This way the government will take part of their freedom, because they can’t use their car anymore to go to work, to school or to go on a holiday for example.

Another reason is that electric cars use a lot of electric energy from our electric network. Electric cars need to be charged at the house or at an electric point at the gass station. This will use a lot of energy and that might cause problems because our network is not yet ready to provide that amount of energy. Imagine that everyone would have an electric car by now. That means that everyone needs to charge their car to be able to drive. This would result in quite a huge problem, due to the fact there would not be enough energy for everyone. In that case not everyone would be able to charge their car or maybe even their phone and laptop. In other words that would be a disaster.

In conclusion, cars that use fossil fuels should not be banned and replaced by electric cars. For a lot of people this would be a too expensive change and besides that our electric network is not ready yet to provide all the energy that is needed for all those new cars.