An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why are more people choosing to have operation to change the way they look? Do you think this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Plastic surgery has become so popular among people these days to enhance their appearance. This is because of a lack of confidence in their overall appearance and numerous cosmetic company advertisements. In my opinion, I believe it has a negative effect due to the fact that it is expensive and harmful.

To begin with, beautification through surgery has become well-known owing to the fact that people are not comfortable with their appearance. They want to become more beautiful, and they want to look like their famous celebrity. Hence this makes them engage in such acts. Moreover, several cosmetic companies tend to advertise their products every day; with this placed advert on everyone’s phone, the public is convinced to try the product out. For example, an acquaintance of mine recently opted for liposuction surgery. She has been so obsessed with losing weight, and she found out about this procedure through an advertisement on the internet. Thus, lack of confidence in one’s appearance and advertisements play a major role in making people opt for plastic surgery.

However, aesthetic surgery is a development that should not be encouraged because it involves many risks. Firstly, it is harmful; people can contract various kinds of disease and just like other surgeries, there are complications of anaesthesia overdose, bleeding, blood clot formation and death. For instance, in recent research by World Health Organization, 55% of people died worldwide in 2021 as a result of cosmetic operations. Secondly, it is expensive. Most people that can afford it are wealthy and famous. This leads to the average individual spending their life savings on this procedure, and eventually, if complications arise, they will not have enough money to sort it out. Hence, cosmetic surgery is a procedure that must be weighed carefully.

In conclusion, the aesthetic operation has become a growing demand these days, a totally unacceptable development considering Heath’s impact and cost.