An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, using various types of tablets and even computers, instead of having physical books and school supplies, is widespread among school students in many developed countries. This tendency has a number of benefits as well as drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Using different devices at school has several positive sides. From my perspective, the main benefit it brings is making classes much more engaging and fascinating. By using devices such as laptop computers and projectors, teachers make lessons more interesting and full of fun. This approach is able to not only improve students’ worldview and communication skills, but support their creativity as well. For instance, a child who interacts with their peers while changing their standpoints and ideas during a discussion class after watching a movie has a better worldview than a child who only writes down some pieces of information. Children who are brought up in this way are likely to be well-rounded people in the future, not isolated from others.

However, this common tendency has its own disadvantages as well. By using digital devices daily, scholars are exposed to radiation from screens. Therefore, the main drawback of this trend is that it leads to health problems, particularly eye diseases. Moreover, it can be harmful for students’ concentration ability. A number of notifications and apps cause distraction among students during classes, while the traditional method of studying helps them stay focused instead.

In conclusion, this tendency can benefit students in various ways. However, it should never come at the expense of their health. Before adopting this practice widely, schools should carefully consider the potential consequences.