Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a common occurrence in the present world to see more and more adults and children working and studying from home. This can be attributed to the increasing availability and effective cost of technology. However, I feel that this is a negative development as it leads to self isolation and a decrease in socialization among the youth and children.

In the recent times, several companies and schools have moved to a hybrid model of working. They give their employees and students the liberty to work or study from home. However, I personally believe that this gives the youth an added reason to always stay indoors and self-isolate themselves. This can act as a breeding ground for many mental health disorders like constant overthinking or depression. Moreover, it diminishes socialization among people and keeps them captivated to their screens which further leads to serious health problems like obesity or hypertension. Furthermore, it reduces one’s general awareness as there is limited meeting and sharing of ideas among people. In my personal experience, I feel that after the covid pandemic, there has been a drastic decrease in my capability to generate creative ideas and socialise.

On the flip side, despite technology being a negative development, I do agree that technological advancement has made education and employment more accessible to a fair amount of people, especially in the developing and underdeveloped countries. For instance, many students from Indian villages are now able to access educational content using their mobile phones.

To conclude, even though technology is an appreciable and much needed development, I am convinced that it has its own negatives and it causes a decline in social interactions and sharing of ideas among people.