Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In current social context, the increase in individuals’ life expectancy has become a subject of heated debate. While this trend presents certain challenges, it also offers a number of significant advantages.

The beneficial aspects of individuals living longer are both numerous and far-reaching . Firstly, greater longevity can lead to closer family ties as older generations remain active members of the family for longer. Elders take a markedly role in raising their grandchildren. They teach younger generations life lessons through storytelling and help children’s parents with upbringing and parental responsibilities. That is why the bond between family members gets stronger. Secondly, as elder people have more life experiences and knowledge, the proportion of wisdom population grows. There always will be elders who navigate young generations in the right direction. For example, according to the statistics, in Central and Western Asia, more than 80% of great figures, particularly writers were upbringing educated and raised by their grandparents. Older generation wisdom and moral education played a significant role in their lives.

On the other hand, longer life expectancy is not without its problems. Overpopulation throughout the world will be main issue. There always should be similar number of births and death rate to keep balance and avoid population pressure. This phenomenon, in turn, leads to noticeable negative consequences, including overcrowding everywhere and shortage of everything, such as, food supply, energy resources, public utilities, and accommodations. Additionally, government will struggle with pensions, as they will have to allocate more funding to them, why on turn will also affect older people living conditions. Elderly people may face with financial problems, dependent on government assistance and could even be a burden to society .

In conclusion, while critics argue that the increasing longevity of the population could bring overpopulation and financial strain on pensions, there are compelling benefits, such as stronger family support and more experienced people and wisdom.