Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in healthcare and living standards have significantly extended human life expectancy. Although some people think that a long life can result in negative consequences like labor force challenges for states, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages when older generations can have more positive effects as wisdom grows and stronger family relationships for communities.

An important negative aspect is about workforce development in government. This is because young workers have more potential and energy to work efficiently, especially with developing tools, while older employees have less education about new technologies. For instance, young employees adapt quickly to new technologies and they can enhance a company’s productivity and growth. However, older generations are less flexible for advancements in the world, as older individuals may struggle to keep up with digital tools. Therefore, compared to older generations, younger people are more comfortable with adopting new technologies, so government may struggle with labor force balance.

However, there are also clear advantages of having more older individuals in society, as they are more wisdom and knowledge for making stronger relationships in family life. The reason for this is that elderly generations can share their experiences and knowledges with youth to develop personal and moral values. Moreover, wise older adults help to build close relationships between family members. This means that senior generation try to support their children and teach them to develop strong sense of moral and ethical values. For instance, Central Asian people nearly always live with grandparents, as older members play crucial role in raising children and giving more social and emotional growth. That is why, many people prefer to live with grandparents who have more experience and wisdom to create community bonds.

To conclude, although an ageing population may create challenges such as declining work productivity of government, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. As living with senior generations share experience and knowledge with youth so it helps to develop social and cultural connections on society and create strong family values.