As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor contributes to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Everybody spends eight or more hours of each day to work, hence, there is a viewpoint that work fulfillment is an essential factor for their wellbeing, which will be examined in the following paragraphs.

Obviously, job satisfaction means whether a worker feels happy with their job or not. Various factors such as pay and benefits and workplace relationships play an important role in satisfaction. In fact, individual’s career priorities, including aim and values, leads a person toward a fulfilling career. As an instance, an employee may feel satisfied with a boring job in that its salary can meet their need. However, another person prefers a challenging workplace with a good supervisor. As Confucius said:’ choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life’.

Nonetheless, it seems impossible to see a world in which all workers are satisfied with their jobs. According to the recent study by New York Times, 48% of employees all over the world are not happy with their career and it is due to the financial problems. In other words, if people did not need money for their living costs and paying bills, they would never work, thus, making money is their priority compared with job satisfaction. Moreover, in many occasions, employers do not pay attention to this fact that the right person should accomodate to the right place at work, this is another point that the expectation of job satisfaction.

In conclusion, the amount of satisfaction someone gets from a job depends on different elements, and it is unrealistic that all workers have fulfilling careers simply because lives are rely on money.