As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor contributes to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Sense of fulfillment at the workplace is a crucial component of a person’s general happiness, because the majority of adults spend most of their time there. Factors, such as a supportive atmosphere and presence of comfortable facilities in the office, directly contributes to the employees’ wellness. However, it is impossible to ensure the contentment of every worker.

Feeling valued as a part of the team is essential for job satisfaction. That is because constant collaboration and recurring feedback opens up prospects for professional and personal growth. Therefore, a worker is encouraged to try new things and enjoy their worklife. Additionally, amenities such as gyms, relax rooms, and open coworking spaces, are known to boost the workers overall contentment as prioritising mental and physical health immediately makes them feel better. For example, the Apple Park, where more than 12 thousand staff works, is equipped with two basketball courts and a two-story yoga studio. Apple employees have reported that these helped them maintain an amazing work-life balance and feel healthier.

Nevertheless, employers are not able to satisfy the needs of every single member. This is due to the inconsistency of personal circumstances and preferences. Not only do clerks come from very diverse cultural backgrounds, but they also possess varying values regarding their careers. Consequently, companies cannot please the demands of all workers. On top of that, the expectations of an employee can mismatch those of the boss’s. When applying for a position, a plethora of candidates get the wrong idea of what the duties entail or what the company culture is like. Because of that disconnect, some jobs cannot live up to workers’ expectations. For instance, 50% of American workforce state that they did not anticipate what their role involved doing, so they are unsatisfied.

In conclusion, although job satisfaction can be achieved through establishing a positive environment and implementing helpful facilities, it is unrealistic to provide job satisfaction for all.