As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The day-to-day traffic increase in public transport pushed people to buy cars to commute. Due to the increase in the number of self-transport vehicles, the road became congested. In order to alleviate the traffic congestion, some may argue that the government should bear the cost for road system renovation. This essay addresses the reason that government should cover the cost of road system maintenance and improvement.

The cost that is spent on road systems is collected by the government through taxes and tolls from the people on a sufficient level. The government holds the responsibility to maintain roads in good condition and ensure the road is safe for all users. So the government should take responsibility to improve roads and infrastructure.

In contrast, the commercial drivers are the most profitable ones in the development of the road systems and they hold equal responsibility for damages caused by their vehicles and driving skills. These accidents cause a lot of money to repair for the government so in order to reduce those damages, the drivers are insisted to spend more money on the road maintenance and improvement.

In my opinion, the government are responsible for road maintenance and improvement because they have the authority and technical expertise. Through these developments, the government gets more revenue than the drivers. Therefore, it is unfair to burden drivers with additional expenses for road maintenance and improvement.

In conclusion, the government should invest more money than the drivers in order to develop road-based income (tourism), which leads to development of the country.