As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

n recent years, the ever-increasing number of cars has led to a need for additional investment in road systems. While some people argue that the authorities take responsibility for the cost, others believe that users should pay for it. The essay will discuss both sides of the argument and explain why I support the former.

There are some compelling reasons why many people believe that users should pay for road systems.

This is because drivers are the primary beneficiaries of roads, therefore, they should cover the costs of their maintenance and improvement. The government invests in roads to ensure that cars can travel smoothly, consequently, charging tolls to the users would be reasonable. Besides, making the users financially responsible for road systems could discourage those who plan to buy cars and encourage the use of alternative vehicles. This could in turn reduce gas emissions and traffic jams, which ultimately leads to a fresher environment.

Despite the above argument, I believe that the relevant authority should bear the cost of improving the road systems.Firstly, the cost associated with constructing such infrastructures often exceeds the financial capacity of the individuals. Road construction also involves a complex planning and approval process that can increase costs further. Secondly, the government collects taxes from citizens annually for public projects, including improving road systems. Therefore, they have an obligation to allocate a financial budget to widen or upgrade those systems.

In conclusion, although each user should contribute to the public road systems, the government should take care of the financial matters. This ensures a well-organized taxation system based on the support of the citizens.