As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The cost of maintaining road facilities rises as the number of cars increases. In my opinion, the users should pay instead of the government expending more money to keep

On the one hand, it is understandable why some believe that the government should pay as they are responsible for providing facilities such as decent road systems to the public. The government has the financial capability to afford it. Additionally, people usually pay a lot of money in taxes, so this money should be invested in this issue. For example, in Vietnam, many people feel discontented when they must spend their money on road tax.

Nevertheless, people who use road construction projects need to cover the costs like fees and tolls, as they are the chief beneficiaries. If users have to pay money, people who drive many cars will have to pay a lot and vice versa. Allowing users to pay would likely result in fewer automobiles per household and a decrease in CO2 emissions released into the atmosphere.

In conclusion, although there are arguments in favor of government funding, it seems to me that individual commuters bear the cost. It is advisable that both need to invest in the maintenance of the road system.