At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the proportion of young adults is increasing drastically compared to elderly people. I believe that the merits of this situation supersede the drawbacks of the situation. In this essay, I will discuss some advantages of having higher youth in a nation such as the economic growth of a country, and some disadvantages including increasing crime rate.

There are some negative aspects of a larger sum of the young generation. Firstly, one of the demerits of more youngsters is that crime rates often surge in that nation. As young population usually engage in various types of offences including burglary, and reckless behaviour, compared to old inhabitants. Secondly, a larger figure of young can create a higher proportion of unemployment in a country. As elderly people are set in their ways, youngsters often suffer from unemployment because the number of jobs in a country is limited. For example, in India, most of the new graduates could not find jobs as the number of jobs is very low compared to the number of graduates, which is why a lot of young people remain jobless. Therefore, the young generation tends to increase the percentage of crime rate as they often remain unemployed. However, these demerits are not major because young people can overcome these by self-employment.

Despite these above-mentioned drawbacks, there are some positive aspects. To begin with, most of the elder people are already retired, although the young generation is a strong workforce for a nation as they will not be retiring soon. To elaborate, youngsters can have a significant impact on economic growth. Furthermore, often young generation tends to become more innovative and creative. Since they can put more effort than old adults, their innovative ideas can help to increase the growth of a country’s economy. For instance, China’s economy has been growing for many years just for the youth population’s new innovative technology. Thus, a country’s young adults are vital for its economy, which is a major benefit.

To conclude, there are some positive sides including strengthening the workforce, innovation and creativity that increase financial stability, whereas there are some demerits as well such as the increase in crime and unemployment. I believe that there are a plethora of benefits that negative aspects of the higher portion of youth in a nation.