Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Having a car is something absolutely beneficial and helpful to people, but this ownership has rose dramatically in the last 30 years, and with this high popularity, many major cities are becoming over crowded.

In most major cities in the world, having no car nor any kind of transportation is very difficult because when people who living in areas far away from the city centre or the markets need to get there every day, will face huge problems without owning cars. For example, if a family living in a town where there aren’t any schools, they will definitely need a car to drive their children to a school in a different town. However, the population nowadays is very high, consequently, the ownership of some transportation, for instance car, has went up to cause many traffic issues, citizens now have to wait too long to cross the street, it is often thought that the number of car accidents is quickly increasing every year because of traffic jam. Moreover, the more individuals are surrounded by the traffic, the more they will be attacked by car fumes. Therefore, I think governments should encourage the residents to depend on alternative methods of transportation or cars. The governments can put trains in specific regions or towns, advise people to ride bicycles instead of cars and that will be healthy for their bodies and more affordable than buying cars.

To conclude, I believe that government has the responsibility to keep people safe from the hazards that come from traffic jam.