Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The proliferation of private vehicle ownership has surged so dramatically in the last three decades,resulting in numerous cities across the globe being plagued by extensive traffic congestion. I agree with the statement that increasing ownership has created congestion in traffic.

First of all, some parts of any country have limited roads because they do not have enough money to construct many roads. Which is why the growing number of personal vehicles has created congestion on the roads. Moreover, I strongly believe that if the ownership of vehicles grows day by day,it will cause congestion. When everyone goes out of their home at the same time,the number of vehicles on the roads increases. Furthermore, in the morning, the employees arrive at their work place, where they spend their time on duty. In addition, this time the roads have been blocked with a large number of private cars, despite the fact that the roads have controlled management.

On the other hand,there are several steps the government should take to discourage people from using personal cars. Firstly, the state should upgrade public transportation so that people are encouraged to use it. For example, when a bus service is extremely frequent, they would prefer public buses to their own vehicles. Moreover, the government must take some steps in order to improve traffic management since people tend to upgrade well-planned systems. As a result, they would not be eager to buy private cars for themselves.

To sum up, the increasing number of vehicles has created traffic on the highways, and taking some steps could reduce it.