Children should learn a foreign language at an early age. What do you think about this statement?

Indeed, Education plays a pivotal role in learner’s lives. Yet it is commonly considered that rather than learning language in later years, It is advisable that they ought to learn in formative age; Nevertheless it is beneficial for giving focus on core subjects, I fully concede that early learning helps to develop cognitive abilities and cultural awareness of learners

To commence with, inculcating (include) language education in the initial years could be important for brain function and enhancing learning abilities, which is because they can absorb and retain information easily. To be precise, when young students are taught second language earlier, they are more likely to adapt native accent and pronunciations, which ultimately could result in fluency and self-confidence. Take “private school” as appealing example where primary school students are enrolled for foreign languages such as English, French or Spanish. These children, thus, become multi-linguistic when they grow up.

Additionally, Cultural awareness is the another merit of learning non-native language in childhood. As it is crucial and vital in the development of individual’s understanding by evolving interest in that subject. This means that, If young children engage themselves in reading and watching more foreign content, they effortlessly can imbibe non – native culture and its origin. For instance, Italy was only renowned world-wide due to its food popularity; Pizzas and Pastas but since 21st century, the numbers of Italian learners have grown significantly due to facility of internet in the school. young children , Therefore, have come to know about Italy’s traditions, culture and history.

In contrast, focusing on the additional subjects in the fostering years could lead to a curriculum overload thereby schools ought to delay till later age since it is difficult to pay attention to all main stream subjects along with extra added ones which overwhelm young students, making them stressed and supressed skills by endless school work. In India, only 4 basic subjects are taught in primary schools; mathematics, science, history and personality development but foreign languages are added into their routine after the age of 16 when they can cope up the pressure, similar trend is followed in Finland where non-native languages are prohibited till first 7 years. which consequently had made these students happier and smarter.