Communication technology such as smartphones, social media, and video calls has changed the way people interact with each other. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of things have been changed in our daily life because of today’s advanced technology, including the way people communicate with each other. While there is a certain drawback to this, I strongly believe that the benefits are more significant.

The most obvious side effect of today’s technologies on our social life is that they can weaken the real-world bonds. Many people nowadays are often distracted by smartphones and other devices even when they are physically together, and miss the chances to have quality times.

On the other hand, one of the major advantages is that people are able to connect with their friends and relatives from long distance and keep the relationships strong and warm thanks to the development of information technology. For example, the majority of population in developing countries have to relocate locally and internationally looking for the better opportunities and leave their homes and families behind. Mobile devices and virtual platforms may help those individuals to connect their loved ones easily and reduce the homesickness to a certain level.

In the past, it was quite expensive to make an international phone call and letters were very slow. Today, internet-based communication allows people to make continuous interaction with each other almost free. Furthermore, digital banking and payment systems make money transfers easier than ever before. Back in the days, many people had to depend on banks and post office for financial transfer. Today a person can send money smoothly to their families from a mobile phone which save a lot of time and money.

In conclusion, the advantages are of greater significance than the disadvantages. Despite the fact that people have a potential concerns to weaken their social life in this digital age, they can instantly connect each other without geographical barriers and keep the connections deeper and stronger. Given this situation, it is recommended that we should encourage to continue developing communication technology.