Cultural differences between nations are becoming less distinct as people worldwide now watch the same movies, adopt similar fashion styles, and are exposed to the same brands, advertisements, and TV programs. Are the benefits of this change greater than the drawbacks?

In this day and age, since citizens that are from all around the world are consuming identical movies, embracing the same fashion vogue, and are encountering similar brands, advertisements and TV shows. In this essay, I will throw light on both advantages and disadvantages then present my stance at the end.

In terms of four key benefits from reducing cultural distinction, the first one is that it may support individuals to carry communication more easily since they share the same cultural references and languages. As a result, they can easily forge and nurture profound relationships. Moreover, a boost in enterprises’ revenues can be obtained due to the fact that customer preferences are becoming more standardized worldwide. To exemplify, youngsters tend to buy merchandise from foreign cartoon shows which help companies earn millions of dollars. Not to mention, residents can gain industry-specific knowledge through engaging and understanding diverse books and educational materials. Hence, they can land a well-compensated job in other nations. Finally, decreasing cultural barriers can lead to a cooperation between nations because of the lack of usual business norms and stereotypes. Otherwise, governments can hardly see

On the other hand, there are two main drawbacks of lowering cultural differences. First of all, it may weaken cultural identity because local traditions are being replaced by global trends. However, the government can spend more financial resources to not only preserve it but also promote local culture on a global scale which can bring a gain for the economy. To illustrate, one of the most famous Vietnam traditions is Pho which not only attracts thousands of tourists each year but also is not being replaced by any worldwide fast food chains. Furthermore, governments can’t unite its citizens due to the shortage of culture and identity including traditional lifestyles, customs and indigenous art forms. Yet, this problem is not so serious because governments always put these into educational systems through field trips or subjects such as music.

To recapitulate, according to my aforementioned lines of reasoning, I reckon that this trend’s merits surpass its demerits since there are two countermeasures which can tackle effectively.