Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is undoubtedly that cycling is much more eco-friendly than other modern transportations thank to void of fussek or gas resources which cause harms to environment,. However, this activity have been still not ubiqitous in many areas. This essay will provide my compehrensive reasons for this phenomenon and also propose feasible frameworks could be taken to increase its popularity.

There are many compelling arguments for the subtlety of trend in using cycles for main transport vehicles. Firstly, people usually take buses or drive their own cars for commuting due to long geographical distance between their homes and workplaces which can take much hours for commutors to cycle to work or schools. In some large countries like the US or Australia, almost people opt to drive to work rather than cycling because they live quite far away from ther houses and cycling is considered as a time-consuming transport method. Secondly, in some underdeveloped or even developed countries like Vietnam, their infrastructure system does not support cyclers due to the lack of designated cycling lanes. Moreover, the safety of cyclers can be totally diminished when moving on one sharing lane where various types of vehicles transporting such as cars, motorcyles, and long-haul trucks. Third, in some hustle and bustle cities like Singapore and Sydney, there are many more effective alternative transportations and citizens there have preferences on mass rapid transportation as widely known as MRT for safety and punctuality guarantee.

To address this chronic problem, many approaches can be taken by governments to encourage people to pivot toward using bicycles for primary transport everyday. Governments should provide hybrid cycles for residents without costs. Riding modern cycles not only is a form of health improvement, but also help people faster head to places they want. Additionally, more designated cycling lanes also should be catered for cyclers. Take Taiwan for typical illustration, Taiwanese cyclers and pedestrians share the same walking lanes which accelarates their speed and facilitates their movement to some extent. Ultimately, governments should boost people’s awareness of environment protection by switing to consume more eco-friendly equipments and especially vehicles like bikes, or electric cars.

In conclusion, even though using cycles for commuting in some areas has been still undergone the nuance demand because of many local circumstances, governments in some countries are trying to increase the locals’ perception of environment and habitat preservation in addition to make cycling more acessibile. These can lead people to proactively prioritize bicycles over other transportations.