Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

As time goes on you will get old, there’s nothing you can do to change that. After that your body will get more sore, inflexible and overall hard to move. So in order to maintain a healthy body at an older age, you must exercise regularly. But some people still do not even though they know it, why ?

One of my points is that social media distracts them. In today’s digital world it’s not uncommon to see people just browsing through their phone all day. It is indeed very entertaining but it also might be due to the fact that no one tries to encourage them to do exercise. In many cases family members, friends, and colleagues often overlook the importance of encouraging older people to maintain a healthy lifestyle .

If they don’t like the idea first, then you should try explaining why exercising is beneficial for your health and create a comfortable environment for them. To address this problem it’s crucial to state benefits of regular exercises, for an aging body. For example, initiating conversations about flexibility, mental well-being and how exercising overall affects your body. Furthermore, it’s important to create a comfortable environment for them. They might feel a little uncomfortable doing things that they’re not used to. When that happens you just need to push them a little more and support them.

My other point is it might be hard for them to move considering their physical condition. As you reach an old age, you naturally see decline in your condition. Including decreased muscle pass, joint stiffness and denser bones. These changes may lead to discomfort, pain, making them view exercising as more overwhelming.

A great way to solve this would be understanding your body and knowing your limits. It’s vital to stop when you need to stop. There’s nothing worse than pushing your body to its limits and getting injured. Remember each person is unique, you need to find the right intensity suited for you, in order to avoid injuring yourself.