Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many of them do not get enough exercise. What are the reasons? What can be done to encourage them to exercise more?

Exercise is a major factor to keeping fit and living a healthy life style. In today’s world, the aged do not get enough of it probably due to weak body due to ill health, lack of motivation and the fact that it was never a thing of pleasure while they grew older making it a difficult thing to begin at an old age. Doctors recommendation of frequent exercise to the elderly is an information that should also be passed to those caring for these old people and not just these elderly person’s themselves. Haven said this, the care givers in other hand will be the pushing force to ensuring exercises are carried out routinely by either motivating, encouraging or persuading them.

Furthermore, exercise amongst the elderly have proved inefficient because many geriatrics are weak in body and have lost interest in daily activities because most of them now live alone. Imagine an old man who is suffering from arthritis and could barely walk straight up without feeling so much pain and all his children have left him to start their own families. Pains and lack of interest has been his torment and one means to ensuring he complies with doctors advice is to create things that will interest him and tackle the pain he feels on his joints. For example, he could go live with any of his children’s family while he gets good treatment for his arthritis. This in turn would make him happy and fit for any physical activity.

In conclusion, as much as exercise is needed for a healthy lifestyle specifically amongst the elderly and recommended by their doctors, the draw backs some of which are weak body and lack of motivation should be seriously looked into first in other to achieve a good feedback from them.