Education should be free to all people and should be paid for and managed by the government. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Nowadays it becomes an important debate that whether the citizens should have free access to the education under the state management. In this essay, I would first look into the arguments which are for the statements before I turn to those against.

The study curriculum is often regulated by the state’s education authorities and all the institutions are bound to follow the system. The government usually considers the opinion of different stakeholders of the society before its implementation. In a welfare state, the government is responsible to ensure the education without any fee. It creates an equitable society where the poor segment can come to the mainstream of the nation and be part of the progress

Despite of the fact, there is still necessity of a privatized education system. Particularly, in the era of globalization, citizen should have their own choice of knowledge and skill to acquire. In a generalized education curriculum, the advanced segment of society may feel suffocated because the state is compelling them to be under a system where they are looking to go beyond. A multipurpose and privatized educational system can bring significant socio-economic changes for a nation. For example, less developed country may not be able to manage a state-run science and technology but private sector can contribute positively to build the nation. Although privatized education system brings some benefits it can not be avoided that some segment of society may be discriminated because they do not have the capacity to bear the education costs.

In summary, the state should have the mechanism and capacity to ensure the free education for all the citizens. Though a general curriculum plays role in overall literacy and ensures a free education but a private education system brings new global ideas and skills and enrich the local resources. In my opinion, there should be no barrier to gain education and state should have strong system and regulatory authorities to ensure mot only increase of literacy but also a skillful workforce.