Food wastage has become one of the leading problems of this century. Why does this problem occur and how to tackle it?

Nowadays, one of the abundant issues of society is food wastage. I believe that this problem is mainly caused by food producer companies. This essay will discuss the causes of the problem and suggest potential solutions.

In fact, one of the main reasons for food wastage is overproduction. Currently, numerous food manufacturers exist, including plants, restaurants, cafes. They are functioning to supply edibles for local citizens. Following an effort for satisfying consumers’ demand and more profit, producers often generate more food than needed. Since consuming products are not long-lasting, producing excess food often leads to spoilage of them. Additionally, inadequate acquiring of goods by consumers also contributes to wasting of food. For instance, if someone does not properly plan their diet and a lot of products remain in the fridge, those uneaten products may no longer be edible.

I have several ideas in order to solve this concern. Initially, food that was excess in food-supply companies should redirect uneaten food to places where it is needed. It may be: charity organizations, helping homeless people, orphanages or nursing homes. Doing this, organizations can prevent unnecessary wastes. Secondly, checking and monitoring expiry dates of supplies may benefit in safely consuming them and not throwing them out. Consumers should also restrict spontaneous purchases, which leads to accumulation of unnecessary food.

In conclusion, there are two different reasons for food overproduction, caused by industrial parts and individuals. Sending surplus products to needing places must be prioritized in order to reduce food wastage.