Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

We can see the idea that governments had better spend money on railways rather than roads. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree with the idea. One of the key reasons is that it costs a lot of money to maintain railways. There are a lot of good points to spending money on the railways. For instance, elderly people can go shopping without a car and it is more eco-friendly than using cars. However, it we rely on trains and subways, governments manage to keep rail ways for remote population from big cities. In fact, there are a lot of trains in the red in some countrysides and regions that people are little. In this situation, governments must keep railways, if they spend money on railways.

A second key point is that not used cars increase significantly. In Japan, mortalization happend to 1980s, increasing people who use cars. Notably, we can see that in rural areas rather than in big cities like Tokyo. Today, if governments try to finance on railways, a lot of problems occur. For example, shopping malls that it is easy for us to go to by using a car may suffer from what visitors decline. Roadside stores, too. Also, used roads and highways will not be used by cars at all. I personally that they cost a lot of money and spend a lot of time, so it is not good.

In conclusion, there are a lot of reasons to spend money on railways in my opinion. Perhaps governments should spend more money on roads rather than railways, considering today’s Japan situations.