Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

There is a contention over whether government authorities should utilise more funds on railways. I completely agree that more funds should be used on making railways better as is an environmentally friendly way of commuting as compared to cars and it also decreases the traffic congestions on roads.

Railway is an eco-friendly way of transport hence, investing more in making railways safe and efficient will have a positive impact on the environment. Nowadays, majority of people rely on their cars rather than public transport due to the inefficiency of the railways. Cars use fossil fuels as their energy source and the emissions from the cars leave a carbon footprint in the environment which causes air pollution. Enhancing the quality of railways such as safety of passengers and punctuality of trains will ensure more people using public transport for commuting. As a result, it will reduce the use of natural resources and cause less harm to the environment.

Using public transport also helps in reducing the traffic on roads. In urban centres, traffic congestions and road accidents are becoming more frequent due to the increasing population and increased number of cars on roads. For example, people often get late to work or school because of being stuck in traffic.Therefore, travelling by trains can be more efficient and time saving.

I conclusion, I agree that government should invest more in making railways more safe and convenient for the public to use as it will help towards environment sustainability and reduce the number of traffic accidents.