Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

It is said that despite developing roads, states ought to allocate more resources to improving railroads. I agree with this viewpoint and think that rail lines are more beneficial. This is because they are likely to be environmentally friendly and might cut down traffic congestion.

Firstly, owing to being an energy-efficient transportation, railways may lessen the environmental pollution. Trains have better fuel efficiency; therefore, they could lower fuel usage and carbon dioxide emissions. For example, an article reveals that rail transport tends to emit fewer greenhouse gases compared to other vehicles such as buses, cars, and even planes which rely on fossil fuels. As a result, rails can reduce carbon footprints and help combat climate change by creating a cleaner and greener future environment.

In addition, funding for subways seems to mitigate traffic jams given that rail could be an alternative mode of transportation for passengers who do not want to be stuck on the road during rush hours. Since trains are probably able to carry a large number of people in a shorter time than private transport, the number of private vehicles on the highways might decrease and reduce the impact of traffic. For instance, in Japan, as they expanded the railways and stations around 2016, there has been a smoother traffic flow which leads to minimizing congestion-related problems and overall vehicle emissions.

In conclusion, government funding should be invested in railways rather than roads. On the whole, railroads appear to lower environmental impacts and prevent heavy traffic on the roads.