Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

I’d rather have railways than roads too, because it depends on many aspects like human behavior and economic growth. I see from the past that other countries, like America and China, have used railways to help boost their economies. The data indicates that railways are more useful than roads. These are the two main reasons why I am choosing railways.

The first reason is human behavior. We know from various studies that accidents or crashes are dominated by the use of cars. Although cars are the most produced vehicles in the world after motorcycles, railways are safer because they have a lower accident rate in the world, behind only air travel. To drive a car, you must have a license, but the requirements to become a pilot are harder than a car license. In Indonesia, many people often cheat or engage in corruption to obtain this license, which is why I am choosing railways.

The last reason is the indicator of economic growth. Railways are more useful in terms of time efficiency. For example, the distance from Jakarta to Surabaya is around 900 km, and the estimated travel time by car is 9 to 11 hours. It’s totally different if you use railways by train, which only takes 5 hours. This is why I prefer using railways, and it also helps the government reduce the number of accidents.

From these two paragraphs, in my opinion, using railways is better than using highways. There is too much to calculate and find to determine why using highways is better.