Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

Speaking of public transportation, as far as I am concerned, spending money on railways outweighs spending money on roads. Some people might argue that the existence of roads allows people to go anywhere they want by various means such as car, motorcycle, bike or even on foot. However, the traffic situation on road has more potential threats and problems than people imagine.

To start with, traffic accidents are more likely to happen on roads rather than on public transportation. During rush hour, there are people driving so fast in order to get to the workplace, school or home on time. Thus, the chance of accident is obviously increase. On the other hand, most public transportations are usually operated by experienced driver and at a stable speed. Therefore, there’s barely a need to worry about safety issue. Secondly, if you drive a car or ride a motorcycle on the road, you might sometimes get stuck in the traffic jam and hence be late for the important meeting, date or gathering. Last but not least, as long as you chose to commute on roads, you would need to find a parking lot, which is extremely difficult to do so when living in a crowded city during weekend or holiday.

As the problems I’ve mentioned above, I think government funds should be allocated on railway. It could not only reduce the possibilities of traffic tragedy but also decrease the chances of being stuck in the traffic congestion. Also, government could increase the frequency of MRT or trains during rush hour to alleviate the pressure from crowded people. On top of that, when we have more railways, we don’t need to worry about there’s nowhere to park and the fines coming after illegal parkingTo sum up, the construction on railways are way more beneficial to the public and indeed improve the well-being in the whole society.