Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments have expended most of their money to the development of transportations. However, there is a criticism that governments should focus on improving railways rather than roads. In my opinion, I personally agree with this statement because railways simplify the travel access to everyone, especially to people who do not have vehicles.

To begin with, there are two main benefits which can be obtained if the governments are more concerned about railway transportation. Firstly, it will reduce the traffic jam that has been a critical problem for the past 20 years. Moreover, the number of cars and vehicles have been overloading, specifically in the urban areas. Thus, commencing more railways and stations will be a solution for individuals who regularly travel to work from their home and it might also support the economic condition to the country.

Secondly, railways will shorten the amount of time needed for travel compared to road transportation. For instance, the enormous demand for people to travel to different cities or countries will allow trains to be an alternative apart from the planes due to their flexibility and velocities. Furthermore, railways also offering lower prices than planes, which make the society prefer to travel by trains, therefore reducing the number of road transportation in the country.

To sum up, governments should shift their focus and spend more money to railway transportation. Although there might be a few drawbacks, railways offer various advantages that will simplify the access to everyone while also benefiting the country, if they are well maintained.