Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments should always keep an eye on its transportation system, as good means of transport are very crucial for country’s economic growth. Government officials must have a good plan to ensure that the resources spent on transport such as airlines, railways and roads, are utilized beneficially. Many think that, instead of roads, governments should spend resources on railways. It is true that, spending more money on railways will give us more benefits in terms of environment and economics however, government should also spend on roads for transportation of commercial goods within a city.

Railways are fast and economic means of transport and if a country has a good railway system, citizens always prefer to travel by railways as it is safer cheaper and faster. This way railways helps in country’s economic growth. Railways are more sustainable than to travel by roads as one train carries thousands of passengers travelling form one city to another. Government should also spend money on trams can become a one good way to reduce traffic in a city, thus reducing per capita carbon emissions.

On the other hand, besides spending money on railways, government should also pay good attention on road as they play an important role for transportation of goods within a city. To provide goods on time, to different commercial areas and locations roads must have a good network. In case, of emergency, good roads are very crucial, like in emergency, for an ambulance to take patient to hospital on time roads must be well maintained and traffic system should be such that the patient can taken to hospital on time.

In short, government should pay equal attention to each and every aspect of transportation by roads and railways rather than, just paying attention on one mean of transport and forget the rest, and then decide where to spend more.