Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Infrastructure development is one of the basic requirements in any developing nation. Some are of the notion that money is to be spent on railways in comparison with roads. I agree that the government should spend more on railways as the longest distance can be travelled with the cheaper cost. Both sides are elaborated below.

To begin with, the foremost reason is that they can travel longer distances in shorter times. Majority of the people rely on trains to not only travel longer distances but they are also the cheapest means of transport. For instance, there are so many individuals who travel from one city to another in order to work as sometimes they have to cover 200kms or more. Therefore,railways help travel on time and are on budget.

Spendings on roadways, on the other hand, has several advantages as it is the national artery. For an efficient transportation of people and goods well-developed infrastructure is required. Moreover, in order to avoid accidents better roads are to be built. Also, nowadays as there is an increase in the traffic therefore the roads are to be broadened. Thus, the government should provide more monetary support for roads than railways.

To put it in the nutshell, it is true that roads are the basic necessities as people need to travel more frequently through it and are to be maintained to reduce accidents. To offer my position, I believe that railways are the best means of transportation as they are fast, reliable and cheaper.