Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that government should use their money to improve on railways instead of roads. In the past, government used to spend a lot of money on the roads, but now a days they are investing much on railways. I strongly agree that they should start invest more in railway projects as it offers more faster and reliable transportation, and reduce traffic congestions.

Firstly, if governments starts investing in projects like railways, they will help the people of their respective country to be more efficient as they will be able to travel faster and save their valuable time while going to work. In addition, travelling on train is more reliable as they are always on time, and follows a structured timetable. For example: In Bangladesh, people who travel from rural to urban cities, if they travel by bus or car they would need around 2 to 3 hours to travel, but moving by a train they would need approximately 40 to 50 minutes. Also, travelling by train helps citizens to save a lot of money, if they use uber or taxi it would be very costly.

Lastly, more projects like railways by the government will solve the problem of traffic congestion. Nowadays, traffic in cities are getting worse gradually. At the same time, government expenses are increasing as they need to train more traffic officers and deploy them all over the city which is very expensive. Thus, doing more railways will help the government to get away from traffic congestion and make commutes and transportation more efficient.

In conclusion, I believe that if government spends money on railways, it would definitely help to reduce traffic congestions and save a lot of time and money of the citizens. On the other hand, if the government spends too resources on the railway projects, they might not focus on the other developments of the country.