Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Railways and roads are a convenient mode of transport. There are a lot of projects undertaken by the Government to develop both railways and roads. Railways are a cost-friendly option for traveling long distances in a shorter amount of time and more funds should be provided by the authorities for their development, but they can’t be connected to all parts of the city where roads can.

When there is a need to travel a long distance over a shorter amount of time, trains can be a cheaper as well as more convenient option rather than traveling by road. Long-distance journeys by road can be tiring, while trains provide ample amounts of facilities to make the journey of a passenger more pleasant. This reason can justify the necessity for the Government to invest more capital in the development of this mode of transport, which can lead to more pleasant long-distance journeys for the citizens of the country.

Another great aspect of the convenience of rails can be said to be the subway, which serves as a lifeline to many commuters. A considerable number of individuals drive to work or take a bus and thus the improvement of the roads should also be taken into consideration by the authorities, but I know several people who still consider the subway to be the best option for their daily commute because of the reason of traffics on the roads which would delay their arrival at work. So, an investment in the development of railroads can prove to be quite useful for the citizens who commute daily.

Thus, Railroad systems should be considered to invest in as a bigger priority than road transport because it is a more people-friendly and cheaper mode of transport. Trains and subways are preferred by commuters in comparison to cars and buses which gives more reason for the Government to give more funds for their development.