Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Every person will probably agree that life is all about being happy. However, the meaning of the word ‘happiness’ itself can be quite complex for some and I think there are a few things that matter for people to be able feel happy.

For some people, they find happiness in small things. For example, parents who feel grateful to witness their children’s first steps or students who feel at ease when they achieve good scores to show to their parents. These situations that are commonly found in human life may be the most important ones for some to feel as if they are living a good life. However, there are also those who expect more in life, and so somehow think happiness can be difficult to gain. They probably want to be wealthy to be able to travel around the world or to have high positions at work and have controls of everything. As a result, they do not feel enough with small things and aim for the bigger dreams. Thus, different goals eventually show the diverse perceptions of happiness.

In terms of factors, there are several that usually affect the achievement of happiness. Firstly, people should have motivations in living their lives. It does not necessarily mean that they should always dream big, but at least have purposes to live. For instance, a father who work hard to earn money for his family must have realized his responsibility and may feel even more motivated when seeing his child grows. Nevertheless, feeling motivated is not enough. People should also have the sense of perseverance. They should not feel easily swayed by their one-time success and do not maintain their best afterwards. Instead, they should keep in mind that the feelings of happiness when they have achieved one of their goals will not come again if they do not work for it all the time. Clearly, without these two factors, people may not be able to achieve and maintain their happiness in life.

To sum up, it can be conceded that there is no exact definition of happiness because it depends on the individuals themselves. However, every of them should probably realize that without motivation and perseverance, it may be hard to actually feel the content feeling in their lives.