Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

The sense of happiness is essential in our life. However, we often find it hard to give it a definition. When it comes to the question of how we can achieve happiness, I believe there are a range of factors that matter.

The definition of happiness varies from person to person. For students whose main aim is to perform well in studying, obtaining a good score will cheer them up the most. For employees, there is nothing better than getting a raise or promotion in their career path. However, people who suffer from painful diseases would undoubtedly see being healthy as the happiest thing.

As far as the way to achieve happiness is concerned, I believe several elements may be involved. Firstly, being wealthy is a prerequisite for achieving happiness. To live a happy life, we are at least able to afford our living expenses, including housing deposit, billings, taxes, etc, to ensure a stable life. People who struggle to make ends meet are probably too exhausted to find out and appreciate the beauty of life. Furthermore, whether we can develop a sense of fulfillment is a standard of happiness. Property sometimes can only bring us short-term enjoyment. For example, going shopping and bringing back a bunch of items can be a relaxation, however, it is easy to get bored before long. On the other hand, long-lasting pleasure can be achieved by the pursuit of self-development, which helps us constantly become a better self.

In conclusion, it is natural that people’s standards of happiness vary. And I believe both physical and mental elements matter in achieving it.