Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

People often say that happiness is extremely essential in one’s existence. In general, it is defined as a total sense of feeling positive emotions and it is believed to be a state of life that a person wishes to achieve.

Being happy is a subjective emotion. One person may see it differently than another due to the differences in the outlooks in life. For example, someone with a light disposition may perceive it as something that can easily be attained whereas a rather depressed person may think that it is an impossible thing to grasp. Furthermore, it becomes harder to given an absolute meaning to it because an individual’s joy and contentment is constantly changing. An adult may have felt happiness playing with dolls when he/she was younger but it probably is not the same as he/she grows older.

Furthermore, there are several influences that are significant in realizing happiness. A person has to be aware by asking themselves about what brings them joy and contentment. A fundamental key to this is having a bright outlook in life that affects their physical, mental and social aspects. More often than not, access to basic necessities such as food, shelter and quality health care plays a huge part in reaching that physical sensation, which then extends to having positive social relationships where you can get emotional and moral support from friends and family.

To conclude, there is no clear-cut definition of what happiness is. It is a feeling that differs over time and there are many ways to realize it. Although difficult for some, an optimistic attitude towards the world should not only be a mere mindset. It should be a lifestyle. In this way, it produces outcomes that lead to contentment and satisfaction.