In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The most common practice nowadays is to transfer elderly citizens to retirement homes for a cosy living. Medical practitioners who cater to their health also reside in these homes, which are funded by the nation’s governing bodies. Some people argue that this should be handled by relatives instead. I tend to agree with the notion that the government should be completely responsible for financing and managing these centres. Nevertheless, people should be given the option to choose what is better for them in their final days.

Every citizen deserves to live peacefully and care-free after their respective retirement. They faithfully pay taxes throughout their career while shouldering the responsibility of their children’s upbringing side by side. Therefore, the country is entirely responsible for the well-being of its citizens, even in old age. For instance, the government can introduce affordable retirement schemes for people who don’t have any immediate close relatives to rely on.

However, some families are affluent enough to provide the optimum care for their parents or grandparents in their senior years. These individuals are capable of hiring the best medical practitioners, such as nurses and doctors, for themselves. Therefore, they can lessen the burden of relying on the government for this service. For illustration, a wealthy man will be uncomfortable living in an elder-care home equipped with average amenities, as he is accustomed to a luxurious lifestyle. So the point of living peacefully in later age will be futile, as he will be utterly uncomfortable in those government-funded, humble facilities.

In my opinion, the choice of who should provide the monetary funding for this type of care must depend on the financial status of the concerned family. I believe that it is the primary duty of the government to front this scheme, but if the family members think that they can contribute to a more comfortable lifestyle in the retirement phase of their loved ones, they should be encouraged to do so.

In conclusion, the main point of this matter is that senior citizens have lived their whole lives chasing dreams and building empires. They have completed their familial responsibilities as well to the best of their abilities. Ultimately, they should choose who can cater to their desire to live a joyful, peaceful retirement life, along with the best medical services, at their fingertips.