In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have polarized views about whether one should earn a handsome salary or nation’s government should set a limit to its citizen’s remuneration level. Whereas some consider the viewpoint of a small number of people to earn high salaries, I personally lean towards the latter notion.

On the one hand, it would be beneficial to allow a particular number of people to receive high salaries as it could act as an incentive and a motivator especially in business and technological industries. One can fuel its ability to reach its full potential when they are highly motivated and this, in turn, could be abenefit to the companies. For instance, Apple is well-known for its innovative gadgets and unique business strategies due to its worker’s contribution. Moreover, highly-paid individuals could make investment in large projects which have positive influence on both the economy and the government through tax. As an example, U Zaw Zaw is one of the well-known entrepreneurs in Myanmar and has a prominent role in providing job opportunities to a large majority of citizens.

On the other hand, I opine with those who argue that there should be a certain degree to set for the level of wage. This is because of a negative effect that can have on lower and middle classes and lead to creating social problems like inequality. Moreover, this lack of social mobility can cause some individuals to cease working and face poverty which can make a country to have a poor reputation. Take Myanmar as an example, a tiny small percentage of the populations hold a vast amount of wealth, creating gaps in society. It is therefore significant for the government to distribute wealth fair and square so that there would be fewer crime rates and become a healthy economy.

To sum up, it would be better if government limit the wages of highest earners so that there is a balance among all kind of social classes.