In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether governments should

introduce a maximum wage. While in some ways it may seem reasonable

to allow people to earn as much as companies are willing to pay, I

personally believe that employee remuneration should be capped at a

certain level.

There are various reasons why it might be considered beneficial to allow

people to be paid extremely high salaries. If companies offer excellent

pay packages, they can attract the most talented people in their fields to

work for them. For example, technology companies like Google are able

to employ the best programmers because of the huge sums that they are

willing to pay. Furthermore, these well-paid employees are likely to be

highly motivated to work hard and therefore drive their businesses

successfully. In theory, this should result in a thriving economy and

increased tax revenues, which means that paying high salaries benefits

everyone.

However, I agree with those who argue that there should be a maximum

wage. By introducing a limit on earnings, the pay-gap between bosses

and employees can be reduced. Currently, the difference between

normal and top salaries is huge, and this can demotivate workers who

feel that the situation is unfair. With lower executive salaries, it might

become feasible to introduce higher minimum wages, and everybody

would be better off. One possible consequence of greater equality could

be that poverty and crime rates fall because the general population will

experience an improved standard of living.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better, on balance, for

governments to set a limit on the wages of the highest earners in society.