In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Cities around the globe are getting more crowded lately, as many people are moving from rural areas to cities, this have resulted in a significant decrease of population in the countryside. In my opinion, this can be positive for many various reasons.

In the last couple centuries, and due to the technological development, people are moving to cities so they can get better lives, even if the life in the countryside is easier and more calm than the city, but cities have managed to afford people not only with new job opportunities and higher salaries, it also has offered people all services needed from education, healthcare, entertainment , and so many other things. Whereas in rural areas, it’s considered to be challenging for people to have access for services needed, as most services required are many hours drive far from them.

For example, countryside is always considered the main source of food production, while wide areas are available there for agricultural use. Governments are now investing more money to transform rural towns and areas into big cities, an agricultural city for example, although this mission is quite hard, but the results expected are promising. There are also nowadays educational cities, for instance, Aachen in Germany, the city is educational and evolved around the university built there.

If governments manage to plan and invest wisely on rural areas, in order to turn them into cities with all services needed available, the results shall be great. This will create more cities on the countryside and will help the people and the economy in general.