In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

City life is full of facilities such as hospital, schools, universities, banks and supermarkets etc. People are leaving country life behind and are moving to city side due to which population is declining in villages. In my perceptive, it can not be termed as a positive development. In this essay I will also discuss both positive and negative aspects of this notion.

Initiating with the point supporting the positive side of the argument, leaving rural area and moving to city is not considered beneficial because it would lead to loss of interest in farming and agriculture. As a result, the economy of overall nation would be shaken dramatically and it would face huge loss. The identity of that village would also gradually diminish due to colossal number of people exiting the particular village. Moreover, city life is not healthy as compared to village life. For example, when a farmer’s child move from a less developed area to a city for further education, it means that he would no longer be able to continue his family business which was farming. Hence, the profession will gradually fade away from the society.

On contrary side, people who held opposite point of view say that shifting from country side to a developed area, opens a treasure of serene opportunities. In cities you have access to unlimited facilities. Furthermore, the decline in population size of villages depicts that more proportion of people have become educated and have adopted advance living standards.

In conclusion, both countryside and city side possesses a unique value which cannot be neglected at any cost. The population size should be maintained equally on both sides and it is the responsibility of the government.