In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion

Life expectancy is rising than ever before across the globe. This essay will examine both the benefit and drawbacks of this phenomenon, as well as explain my personal point of view.

Two main advantages of the surge of people live longer are country’s productivity and harmony. Life expectancy has been a positive indicator of a nation. It is mean that some people in the old age might still be able to work. German is a prime example, where the older people are contributes not only for providing suggestion to the young employee but also living the legacy of the company profile. The geriatric’s life experiences are valuable for solving constrains that industrial face. They have even suffered from several world economic crises and those lessons behind was remarkable for countries development.

In contrast, not every elderly lived in a perfect health condition. This might cause a public health threat and put a burden for the national economy. Many of them has been diagnosed with Alzheimer diseases or even dementia. Although, they might look healthy, those who have dementia need assistance in their life. Therefore, government has expanded some facilities like nursing-care or elderly-care for pensioner. Government should support their retirement wage and medical bill. Consequently, put a burden to public health cost which can affect the economic growth as a whole.

In conclusion, despite the historical legacy that individual with high life expectancy could bring, age related diseases can give detrimental impact to countries economy growth. Therefore, I believe that the rising rate of life expectancy should be balance with health conditions so it can maximise the positive affect that elderly could give.