In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

During the last few decades, more and more people around the world are deciding to move into big cities , rather than stay and live in the countryside. As a result, a number of peoples who live there is decreasing. What cloud be the reasons for such decisions As far as I know, it is usually considered that living in the city is better.

First of all, there are much more opportunities for career development as there are more different companies, corporations and other places where people could find a job. Also, in the city there are plenty of places to spend your leisure time with fun, for example, cafes, restaurants , cinemas, parks and museums, shopping malls and so on. For some it seems that life in the city is more interesting because of the variety of events and festivals, where you can meet with new people or find friends. A lot of people also move to cities to study at university or colleges.

But, there are also some negative sides of this development. And first is that suburban economy is getting worse because of the big amount of people, mainly youth, who is moving to the cities so there are not enough workers. For the last few years, amount of businesses in the countryside was decreasing as the are no customers. If there are no entertainment and work, of course people will move out.

In conclusion, I think that it is not a really positive trend. Because of the huge amount of citizens, prises are rising as well as rent, and there is a big job demand. As a result , number of homeless people and level of crime is growing every year what is reduces level of quality of life.