In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With globalisation, there has been a major shift of population from rural to urban regions. In numerous countries, this change has brought about advantages. Yet, in others, this has raised many issues and worsened the situation in both areas.

In today’s world, rural people move to urban regions to look for better, higher education. This allows them to have better opportunities and enjoy a higher lifestyle. In the same vein, they can provide for their families living in rural places. More educated people mean that the workforce of that country is more updated and sophisticated. The working people are versed in different sectors: finance, science, computing and politics. Thus, it leads to a flourishing economy. The country can invest in infrastructure and enhance the standard of living of its citizens. A striking example is South Korea. The country has a multi-pillared economy. Hence, it is one of the most architecturally and technologically advanced countries.

However, with more people moving to cities, there are fewer people working in the agricultural sectors. The country may become export-dependent for its food and can lead to higher taxes. Another critical situation is the over-population of towns. Many major capitals and cities are over-crowded with people. This creates an accommodation crisis. In Australia, major cities like Sydney and Melbourne are facing this issue. There is little accommodation and the prices for the few places available are ridiculously sky-high. The Government has had no choice but encourage people to shift to rural region such as Perth and Adelaide by providing educational and monetary incentives.

Overall, the shift is not inherently negative. However, measures should be implemented to ensure people living in cities and rural regions have access to same facilities whether be in education, healthcare or transportation. This will minimise sudden surge in people moving to cities