In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion

In the recent years, there has been a huge increase in the number of individuals questioning the merits and demerits of raising of life expectancy all around the world.

On the one hand, one key benefit is that people can enjoy their lives longer. However, a significant drawback is the preasure for the ecomonics of the countries where the number of old people is increasing.

To begin with there is an argument to be made that people after they get the retierment, start enjoyng their lifes even more. For example, elderly people start travelling and exploring new countries. For this reason it’s evident that the longer you live, the wider old people can discouver in this life. What is more, the old have more free time and they finaly can dive into books or even new hobbies that they wanted to try but they have never had time for. This being the case, it can be assumed that if you a mature man, you can love your life even more.

Nonetheless, it must be stated that after the retierment people do not work anymore and do not pay taxes which can be an issue for the economy of the country. For instance, countries must pay money from the general budget what creates bigger preassure for taxpayers. Furthermore, country has to spend money not for the development and further growth but for people who are just cosumers and do not produce any more wealth to the countries. With this in mind, the is no doubt that if a country spends more money for old people, the taxpayers will have to work harder in order to provide the stability of the financial system.

To conclude, while some people claim that increasing life expactancy can be harmful for ecomomics, others myself included, firmly believe the opposite. From my perspective pros do not outweigh the cons , as we all want to live longer.