In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion

Nowadays, in many nations, more and more people tend to live more compared to the past thanks to advancements in technology and science. In my opinion, the pros of this trend outweighs the cons, as I will examine in detail in this essay.

In terms of advantages, it is obvious that people spend more time with their loved ones after retired, which fosters the social bonds. For example, in today’s world, children can spend time with their grandparents, whereas a few decades ago, it was a rare condition. Moreover, since life expectancy is increasing significantly, adults are prone to work for a long period, contributing to the success of companies with their experiences. Meanwhile, adults become the mentor of new employees in the workplaces, which leads to the flourishing young generation.

On the other hand, when life expectancy is rising, the burden on health services is increasing as well. As a result, governments are forced to invest huge funds in the health sector, with a deduction of money in other essential sectors, such as education and transport. Also, once health services are more engaged in older people, the vast majority of younger individuals will become deprived of these services. For instance, statistics indicate that in Azerbaijan, in certain hospital, the 70% of patients were individuals aged above 60, while the hospital could not accept young people because of its limited capacity.

In conclusion, although living longer may rise the responsibility of the health care services, it makes old people stay in a job longer and set aside enough time for their families. I believe that since the advantages of extended life expectancy are more that the disadvantages, countries should invest more money in scientific researches.